Having had a bit of a bad week with both general life and self employment combining to make me wish I could flip it all the bird and wander off into the sunset, I thought I’d share some of the tips I have been given / found /worked out to help battle through weeks from Dante’s worst nightmare.

1) Plan.  Yes I know lots of stress comes from not planning and so the horse may have already bolted, but for next time…write it down.After being advised to do so by a very zen and successful lady, I got me one of these bad boys:

http://www.wilkinsonplus.com/notebooks-and-pads/wilko-things-to-do-today-pad/invt/0262463/

£1.60 worth of stress relief. I keep it by my bed, write anything down that i remember in a panic at 2am (happens a lot sadly..im getting old) and then it’s there for me to tackle the next day. Sitting down and planning your day or week in this way it more useful than a note in a diary and gives you a sort of mental spider diagram – which avoids forgetting everything, that so often happens when you’re wired.

A friend of mine responded to a panicked text of mine about achieving nothing all day with the sage advice  ‘Just plan then, chill out and look at it all from a distance, and plan your next step. Compromise’. She’s going to be an amazing mum….

2) Ask stuff. Seek advice from those in the know. Whether it’s the internet (mind your sources), friends, or as im finding to be useful, a mentor. Approaching someone in your field or someone you admire for advice can be really rewarding, and they can put things in perspective. Asking someone who has done it all before whether your idea is feasible or if your approach is good will probably gt you a more honest approach than asking your mates. Unless you have really overly honest, harsh mates like me….

Asking can find you solutions you’d never thought of, like these useful guys for government funding:

http://www.ukbusinessgrants.org/index.php

or simply asking the public through one of the new schemes (often for artistic projects) such as:

http://www.kickstarter.com/

perhaps lottery funding:

http://www.awardsforall.org.uk/

3) Exercise. I recently started running again, and though its hard to find the time as a single parent, it’s so worthwhile.

You feel more full of energy, you look better and it beat the blues / insomnia that plagues the troubled mind. Mega blogger and stylish lady Bangs and a Bun has produced an e-book for those wanting to get into running that I can highly recommend – it covers all the little insecurities and questions we all have, and though it’s aimed at womenfolks, I’ve found my male pals benefitted from its tips too. Check it:

http://www.bangsandabun.com/the-book/

4) Forgive. Both yourself and others. We all make errors, we all say and do things that we shouldn’t. We all get tired and pissy.

Look at how you have forgiven others, and apply it to yourself. Half of making this world a better place is the tolerance of fellow humans, and first you have to accept yourself. I often find that laughing at myself heartily helps me get over it – tell a sympathetic ear your tale of woe and make it into a joke. have a good laugh and shake it off.

I like this from personal hero Frida Khalo:

“I used to think I was the strangest person in the world but then I thought there are so many people in the world, there must be someone just like me who feels bizarre and flawed in the same ways I do. I would imagine her, and imagine that she must be out there thinking of me too. Well, I hope that if you are out there and read this and know that, yes, it’s true I’m here, and I’m just as strange as you.”

Let me know your tips…goodness knows I’m sure we can all use them!

 

Image via: http://vi.sualize.us/

One thought on “When Things Go Wrong

Leave a Reply

